Bangkok trip and new laptop

Recently I have been to Thailand. I attended one official meeting at Krabi, Thailand. On the way to Krabi, I stopped at Bangkok. While wandering around I found Acer Aspire 4732Z laptop at very amazing price. The configuration of the laptop is:

  • Intel Pentium Dual Core Processor T4300 (2.1 GHz, 800 MHz FSB)
  • Intel GMA 4500M Graphics Adapter
  • 14.0 inch HD LED LCD
  • 2 GB Memory
  • 250 GB HDD
  • DVD Super Multi DL Drive
  • Acer Nplify 802.11b/g/Draft N
  • Multi-in 1 Card reader
  • 6-cell Li-ion battery
  • 1 LAN port
  • 1 VGA port
  • Built-in webcam
  • 2 USB ports

The laptop had no OS pre-installed. The store could not show me its functioning. I just bought it and brought to my hotel. I got one 4GB USB pen drive free with this. That helped me installing Ubuntu to this new laptop. In my old laptop I had .iso image of Ubuntu 9.10 Live Desktop. With help of UNetbootin I made the installation USB and installed Ubuntu 9.10. And amazing thing  haappened. It detected and configured all hardware. All worked well. I started Cheese Webcam Booth and found the webcam working. Later I installed Ubuntu Netbook Remix things. and now my desktop looks great!
All of these I have got for only USD 415.

Posted via email from Suhreed Sarkar | the philosopher

2 thoughts on “Bangkok trip and new laptop

Leave a Reply

